Gluten Intolerance

Gluten Intolerance And What You Should Know

A popular catch phrase in today’s diet conscious world is gluten free. You will see this plastered on many labels and packages as well as advertised in some restaurants and pre-cooked meals. This is important because there are certain groups of people that aren’t able to digest food with this protein. There are a number of ways to properly identify meals for yourself, but first you must know the basics about this particular diet.

Gluten is nothing more than a special type of protein that is commonly found in wheat, rye and barley. As such, it can be found in most families cupboards and refrigerators as different cereals or breads.

While it can be alright to assume that you should avoid all grain types, not all in that family have this problem. For example, you may have foodstuffs made from corn, rice (certain wild varieties), millet, oats, soybeans and sunflower seeds. You can look up more information on the Internet under cereals.

Current laws allow labels to advertise gluten free, although it cannot be one hundred percent verified if this is the case. This is because the foodstuff is difficult to totally extract. In certain ingredients like, wheat it can be removed, however some minute traces will still remain. You can identify rations that don’t have this protein if they feel like chewing gum. In bread for example, it makes the dough feel elastic, providing it with its chewable texture. This is why it is derived from the Latin word for glue.

Below, we are going to tell you more about gluten intolerance

It is also very beneficial for bakeries as a whole because certain characteristics of bread require this ingredient in the natural baking process. It makes dough rise during fermentation, and ensures that its shape is maintained when starch is added. Without it, special bread machines and food processors would be required to finish the baking is a great article on gluten intolerance